Habitats listed as 'habitats of principal importance'

Lists of 'species and habitats of principal importance' have been drawn up across the UK's devolved administrations. The lists are a requirement under the 'duty to conserve biodiversity' placed on public authorities under Section 41 in England and Section 42 in Wales of the Natural Environment and Rural Communities (NERC) Act 2006,  Section 2(4) of the Nature Conservation (Scotland) Act 2004, and Section 3(1) of the Wildlife and Natural Environment Act (Northern Ireland) 2011.  The resultant lists include species and habitats of 'principal importance' in England, Wales and Northern Ireland, and the Scottish Biodiversity List (in Scotland).  

Available MarLIN information on 'habitats of principal importance' is listed below, based on the JNCC rationalised list (JNCC, 2014). 

Habitat listings

Mud habitats in deep water

Subtidal sands and gravels

Tide-swept channels