Habitats listed under the Habitats Directive

Conservation of Natural Habitats and of Wild Fauna and Flora - the 'Habitats Directive' aims to conserve biodiversity across the area of the European Union through a coherent network of Special Areas of Conservation (SACs). The EU Council Directive 92/43/EEC on the conservation of natural habitats and of wild fauna and flora came into force on 21 May 1992. Seven marine habitat types are listed in the Directive. 

Available MarLIN information on habitats (biotopes) that 'may occur within', are 'contained within' or that are 'typical of' Annex I Habitats are listed below, where available. Both 'non-physiographic' and 'physiographic' habitat types are included, based on the JNCC rationalised list (JNCC).

Habitat listings

Atlantic salt meadows (Glauco-Puccinellietalia maritimae)


Large shallow inlets and bays

Large shallow inlets and bays sealochs

Mudflats and sandflats not covered by seawater at low tide


Spartina swards (Spartinion maritimae)

Salicornia and other annuals colonising mud and sand